How to Permanently Delete Patients
In this tutorial, you will learn how to permanently delete single or multiple patients from your account.
Note: Only users with Super Admin access are able to delete patients.
Watch a Video Tutorial
About Deleting Patients
You should understand that it is intentionally difficult in WRMD to delete a patient. This is because you should not want someone who is not permitted to delete patients to accidentally (or intentionally) do that.
Only Super Admins have permission to delete patients.
How to Delete a Single Patient
WRMD is set up so you can only delete the last admitted patient of a particular year. This means if you have five patient records in your account, and you want to delete the fourth one, you will not be able to. You would need to delete the fifth one and then delete the fourth one, which is not an ideal situation. It is never advisable to delete a patient unless the last patient you admitted is a complete mess up and should never have been admitted. Then, deleting this single patient would be something you can do.
Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner and click on Maintenance from the drop-down menu.
In the menu on the left, you will see a scary pink highlighted panel called Danger Zone. Click on the Delete a Patient link.
On this page you will see scary-looking and intimidating signals to highlight the fact that deleting a patient is NOT reversible. It is a one-time, permanent action that you cannot reverse.
From the drop-down menu under Patient’s Year, choose the year you want to delete the patient from.
Type in your password two times. This password is the same as your login password.
Click the pink I Understand the Consequences Delete All Patients button.
Now, all patients from the year you have indicated, along with all their data, will be deleted permanently and forever.